Posted by: colloquiallyspeaking | May 1, 2012

I Am A Giver…That’s What I Am

I give…because I can…because I should…because I have to.

I give…even though it hurts sometimes…and resentment builds…bitter.

I give…even though I feel taken advantage of…stepped on…used.

I give…even though it’s hard…draining…tolling.

I give…even though I don’t always want to…because the recipient doesn’t like me…or understand me…or care to try.

I give…because I am a giver…and when I keep it inside…I become a taker…and then I can no longer earn…my worth…my right…to live in a world…that can only keep turning…if people keep…giving.

Responses

  1. Only because the timing is kind of strange – I’m hoping I don’t fall into any of these categories….

    • i’m gonna write this out here cause i think i should – absolutely no connection….just something i’ve been thinking about and after this weeks parsha (israeli one) regarding v’ahavta l’reiacha kamocha, i formed a response to my thoughts. that’s all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

