Posted by: colloquiallyspeaking | June 14, 2010

Nitpick

I love living in the land of our fathers.

There is a sense of camaraderie here, not found anywhere else in the world.  Of course, it can sometimes be perceived as meddling, but it’s nice when caring people give unsolicited advice about how warm or cold my child must be as they reach over and either tuck a blanket around the innocent child, or hastily pull away the offending material.  I love walking down streets with ancient structures on one side, and modern luxury apartment buildings on the other.  Most of all, I love the sense that I am walking in the footsteps of generations of my people.  I love living in Israel.

What I do not love, however, is trying to get my little girl to sit still for twenty minutes every night as I comb through her hair with a stainless steel contraption meant to remover the tiny eggs that inevitably find their way onto each strand throughout the few hours she spends at gan.  Along with that comes the itchy sensation I have in my own scalp, as well as the frustrating task of trying to teach my husband how to check my hair.  There is only one solution, and although I am hesitant, I’m beginning to lean towards that option.  I might chop her beautiful hair off until she is ready to sit through the nightly cleansing process.

It’s a small price to pay for the privilege of living where I want to live.

Leave a Reply

Categories

