Posted by: colloquiallyspeaking | June 7, 2010

Blogs, Blogs, Blogs

So I have been actively reading many blogs, mostly ones associated with Jewish ideas.

I have some misgivings about a lot of them.

I don’t mean to judge, and I’m trying really hard not to point fingers, but there a number of blogs out there that bother me immensely.

I’ll start with the two most common; off the derech and want you to be too, and on the derech and want you to be too.

Why does this have to be such a fight?  Why can’t people, on both sides of the coin just accept that there are all types of people in this world and our job is not to change anyone but ourselves, if need be?  For me, it hits a particularly sensitive chord.  I was on the derech, then off the derech and now decided that the word derech is not for me at all.  When I was on, I never thought to make other people get on with me.  When I was off, it never occurred to me to try to convince others that I was right in my decision.  I thought I was right and that’s all that really mattered.  It seems that a lot of time and energy are wasted between these two particular genres of Jewish bloggers.  I just wish everyone would learn how to give personal space to people who just want to write their feelings, whatever they may be.

Another class of blogs is one in which the blogger is highly opinionated and likes to let everyone know it.

Now, I’m not saying don’t be opinionated, by all means, have whatever opinion you want.  However, before you publish something on the World Wide Web, think about the pros and cons of expressing opinions that put other people or groups of people down.  I actually started off as one of those bloggers, and after re-reading some entries, discovered that sometimes, the opportunity to delete something and remove it from sight forever is a true gift.  I wish the real world could come equipped with a delete button.

There are other categories of blogs that I find fault with, but rather than continue on the judgmental rant I have begun, I would like to share something wonderful I recently discovered.

There are some truly talented and creative Jewsih bloggers out there who are providing me with reading material that makes me feel some emotion!  Hurray!  I am no longer bored, so long as those of you who qualify by having met my reading criteria continue to write.

Responses

  1. As I was reading your post, I thought you were just going to go down the list and knock every blog out there. But I was happy to see the last paragraph. There really are some great blogs out there.

    • thanks – was actually a delicate process for me, trying to say my piece while acknowleding the other sides, so i’m glad someone noticed:)

  2. Hey.
    I think I’m gonna like this blog.

    I know what you mean. There used to be some really good quality Jewish blogs but lately they’ve become soapboxes.
    Anyone who feels the need to force their views on others are not secure in their beliefs.
    People need to just write their heart and stay true to themselves.

  3. I can’t say I agree with everything you’ve said, (though i do agree with most) but what I will say is that a blog is not the place to get people on the derech.


Leave a Reply

Categories

